Security is where the system administrator creates and manages users, user groups, and the assignment of components to groups. The creation of user groups enables owners of apps and resources, e.g. connections, stores, runtimes, to choose what group(s) have access to the app and/or resource.
This article includes an overview of:
- Navigating the Security screen
- User Management screen overview
- Group Management screen overview
- Concepts of the sharing functionality
Navigating the Security screen
The Security page is available from the user icon () and clicking the submenu item Security. This menu item is available in Syntasa 5.2 and forward. Also, it can only be seen by those users with the role of System Admin.
Within the Security page, there are two primary pages, User Management and Group Management, that are detailed below.
User Management screen overview
The User Management screen is the default screen when entering the security menu (as seen above), but also can be navigated to by clicking on the user icon (). Within this screen, users can be created, updated, including assigning the user to user groups, and deleted.
Prior to Syntasa 5.2, the user management functionality is found under the Profile menu.
Details of the user management functionality can be found in the User Management article.
Group Management screen overview
The Group Management screen and functionality are available in Syntasa 5.2 and forward. It can be navigated to by clicking on the user group icon (). Within this screen, user groups can be created, updated, including assigning/unassigning users to user groups, and deleted.
Details of the user management functionality can be found in the Group Management article.
Concepts of the sharing functionality
The sharing functionality adds the ability to create user groups to collect users that belong to a team or are collaborating on a project. The creation of user groups enables owners of apps and resources to choose what group(s) have access to the app and/or resource.
The sharing option is available on most components throughout the Syntasa application, e.g. apps, connections, runtimes, stores, etc. The owner of the component can set the sharing option to one of three options, public, private, and group, which will then restrict access to the component per the selection.
Public is the default setting and is the behavior of all components prior to Syntasa 5.2, i.e. before the sharing functionality was available, as all users have access to the component (except apps that are in a module, Synthesizer, Composer, Orchestrator, and the user's role is such that they do not have access to that module).
Private can be set by the owner (or the system administrator) to limit the access to the component only to the owner. System administrators can also access components set to private.
Group can be set by the owner (or the system administrator) to limit the access to the component to the user group(s) assigned to the component. As with private, the system administrator can view components with the sharing option set to group regardless if they are a member of the group.
Further details on the sharing functionality can be found in this article.